Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Killah Priest - Heavy Mental [1998]

01: Intro
02: One Step (feat. Tekitha & Hell Razah)
03: Blessed Are Those
04: From Then 'Till Now (feat. Full Moon)
05: Cross My Heart (feat. Inspectah Deck & GZA)
06: Fake MC's
07: It's Over
08: Crusaids (feat. Tekitha)
09: Tai Chi (feat. Hell Razah, 60 Second Assassin & Father Lord)
10: Heavy Mental
11: If You Don't Know (feat. Ol' Dirty Bastard)
12: Atoms to Adam (feat. Shanghai the Messenger)
13: High Explosives
14: Wisdom
15: B.I.B.L.E. (Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth)
16: Mystic City (feat. Shanghai the Messenger)
17: Information
18: Science Project (feat. Hell Razah)
19: Almost There
20: The Professional

REUPLOAD: Heavy Mental is the debut album by rapper Killah Priest, an associate of hip-hop group Wu-Tang Clan and a member of the group Sunz of Man. It was released on March 10, 1998, on Geffen Records.

The album is resplendent with references to Judeo-Christian-Islamic mythology and theology, drawing parallels to the condition of Black people in the United States to that of the Jewish people during Exodus. A notable track on the CD is B.I.B.L.E. (Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth), which had already appeared on GZA's 1995
Liquid Swords alb
um in a slightly different form. Another is the title track, which features Killah Priest rhyming in a style reminiscent of slam poetry and prominently features a didgeridoo. “One Step,” with its refrain of “Your arms too short to box with God,” reached #84 on the Billboard Hot R&B/Hip Hop singles chart. Priest released the album through Geffen/MCA Records, which already had a relationship with Wu-Tang Clan. The album peaked at 24 on the Billboard top-200 and at 4 in the Top R&B/Hip Hop charts.

Member Of: Groups: Almighty, Black Market Militia, Maccabeez, Sunz of Man, The Four Horsemen


1 comment :

Kim said...

Absolute classic! Claaa7 made a compagnon disc on his blog (claaa7.blogspot.com) with tracks that didn't make the album and alternative versions. It's equally amazing. Together they make for a nice double CD.